English vs American Book Covers

I have been adding some of my books to GoodReads and I have become very aware of a phenomenon that I had vaguely noticed before: books often have very different covers on either side of the Atlantic. Personally I prefer the English covers so I guess that proves the publishers know their audience.

Magician's Guild UK Cover

UK Edition

Magician's Guild US cover

US Edition

UK Edition 1998

US Edition 1998

UK Edition

US Edition

It seems to be less common with newer books, however. This is presumably due to publishers only producing one version to cut costs.
Leave a Reply

